MA Courses
For current course offer with descriptions and downloadable course syllabi, please go to the main CEU course hub (click the link).

The Department of Political Science targets both future academics and students who wish to pursue careers in non-academic jobs requiring considerable skills in social and political analysis, typically in the civil service, the news media, NGOs, political and cultural organizations, and private businesses. To serve this multifaceted constituency, the programs put considerable emphasis on developing research and writing skills that are valued in all work environments that require the ability to develop, probe, and convey complex ideas efficiently, logically, and lucidly. The programs seek to instill appreciation for, as well as excellence and rigor in, critical reflection and scholarly analysis, the capacity to follow the scholarly literature independently in the broad fields of the discipline, and to continue studies at the doctoral level. In terms of substantive coverage, the programs are to offer state-of-the-art examination of most major fields in contemporary political science at an intermediate level, and offer advanced postgraduate courses in multiple areas of supported specializations. The style of the instruction is modeled on the practices of leading North American universities.

Students can choose from a variety of courses, approximately 40 MA and 20 PhD courses each year, delivered by internationally recognized professors and experts in Political Science.

PhD courses

Besides the MA courses offered by the Political Science Department, students can enroll in PhD-level courses in Political Science for a maximum total of 4 credits over the year, with departmental approval and with the permission of the doctoral committee. Such a request should be sent to the Head of the Doctoral School at ds(at) and Head of Department at polsci(at) The list of PhD courses is available at the beginning of each academic year.

Cross-listed courses 

Besides the MA courses offered by the Political Science Department, students can choose from MA (and PhD) courses offered by other CEU departments and programs, provided that those courses are cross-listed with the Political Science Department. The list of cross-listed courses is available at the beginning of each academic year. 

Taking courses at other CEU academic units
CEU promotes interdisciplinarity and cross-unit collaboration. Therefore, as a Masters-level student you are allowed to earn up to 4 credits per academic year from courses offered by other academic units without any formal approval required by the Department of Political Science. This is a University-wide regulation endorsed by the CEU Senate in June 2016. To learn about courses offered at other departments, please visit: