As a community of students, faculty and staff, the Department of Political Science is committed to academic freedom, equal access to education and collegial self-governance. Our ultimate aim is to enable our diverse student body to become successful and influential professionals in the future social, political and academic life of their home countries.

We offer the BA Program - Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, two Master Programs and a Doctoral Program in Political Science. Our One-year Master of Arts (MA), Two-year Master of Arts (MA) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) programs have double accreditation. They are registered by the Board of Regents of the University of the State of New York for and on behalf of the New York State Education Department (US) and recognized by Agentur für Qualitätssicherung und Akkreditierung Austria (AQ Austria).

The Department of Political Science provides a comprehensive program of instruction and research in the fundamental areas of the discipline: political institutions and processes; the origins, development and transformation of theory and concepts; understanding different approaches to political analysis; political philosophy; social theory; political economy; public policy; political and economic sociology; constitutionalism and the legal contexts necessary for understanding politics and debates about it.

The cognitive skills the department seeks to impart include the employment of different methods of analysis and critical thinking. Use of these will enable students to deepen and broaden their knowledge of politics and to articulate their own ethical stance on issues studied. The department strives to develop and nurture a scholarly community of faculty and students who engage in a common process of education and research, with emphasis on understanding the problems and challenges contemporary political communities and their citizens face.